Thursday, March 18, 2004

Who's the loonie bin?

Okay I am here at the BUG project until the end of the month. That loonie is still spewing out her ass! She now is saying that Canadian singer Dan Hill is African American. This woman is of that descent. SHE can never be wrong...and everything I say is incorrect. Gosh forbid that somebody else was right!

I am liking being here. I feel sorry for the guy that actually works here as he is stuck sitting beside her. As the work is basic data entry they are allowing us to bring in a walkman to listen to. I guess they feel sorry for us that we have to sit in the room with "L" gabbing away. It doesn't seem professional at all but it is allowing us all to get away from the insanity.

They have asked me to handle some of the irrate public to inform them that we may end up cutting down the precious trees. I guess they like the way I work too. Because it is a position withing the government they had to do a total criminal check and such. I am good for the next 5 yrs with this thing and there was no cost to me. LOVING IT!

I have been learning quite a bit of information while here and all the other temps thought that I was an actual employee. I must fit in well then with the full timers.

We have a potluck and that was all great. I had made a beautiful casserole and some *itch on the bus knocked me and it went all over the place.

Well to make up for that I am going to bake some homemade bagels for the people in the office as well as the temps. Heck I may even bring some fresh spread!

Tuesday, March 09, 2004

Those creepy things are disgusting!

So I guess it was a good idea to go to the agency. They have given me another placement. AND a government placement at that. I am currently doing a position with a government agency in erradicating a disgusting asian pest that is killing our hardwood trees.

There are actually about 10 temps working here. IMNSHO(in my not so humble opinion) I think that maybe 4 of us are actually sane!

We are all sitting in a huge boardroom with long tables lining the wall with our workstations on them. We have to enter into the database information regarding trees and sizes (insert dirty giggle...sizes and woody's) and what bugs were found. (keep mind out of the gutter!) There is one woman who just doesn't shut up. She claims that her ancestors were the rightful owner of the Queen's jewels. Ya right and I am the queen mum! She goes on to say that she is going to have her family crest copywritten. THIS WOMAN IS A FREAKIN NUT. Why on this earth would the agency send a woman like this to a position like this. And here am I just getting placed through the agency. I swear this woman is getting on my nerves already.

The room is freezing! I understand that because there are so many computers that they need to make sure that the room temperature stays cool...but come on! It's worse than Greenland in there.

I hope that I just don't get sick.

Friday, February 13, 2004

Okay so here is the update of the placement that I am doing at the property management firm. I was getting a little excited about it because I have entertained in the past the idea of working within the real estate industry.

My direct contact supervisor must have been impressed with my work because she called the agency and requested me to stay for an entire 3 weeks. I am organizing the 3 properties files and I am burying myself under a tonne of files and paperwork. It was an absolute mess when I got here. All three properties files were mixed together. There was no order within the chaos.

I am separating each property and allocating them their own filing cabinets. I have also started to log all the files into an Excel spreadsheet so that once I am gone, the employees will still be able to find what they need. Only too often do you hear that the temp screwed up, because they actually followed through on the job that they were paid to do and once they are gone the permanent employees can't locate the stuff that is needed because they weren't the ones that actually did the job.

All this work for a diddley pay! I am taking the initiative and doing all this. This isn't part of the job. BUT, I figure if I go above and beyond it reflects good on me. I have always been that way.

Hopefully I won't be on a break after this placement for too long. I made sure to go into the office to pick up my cheque so that they could "SIZE" me up.

Tuesday, February 03, 2004

So, I finally get a call from the agency and they are offering me a placement with a property management company. Talk about grunt work! I will be overhauling files for 3 properties! All for a measly $9.60/hr

Normally this wouldn't be something that I would accept; however, as the agency hasn't ever met me I decided that I wasn't going to be picky and take the job. It's for 1 week. Although it is in the north end of the city. I figure that come Friday (payday) I will go pick up my cheque so that these people at the agency will know who I am and hopefully they will place me more often.

Wish me luck.

Sunday, January 04, 2004

Alright people. I have come back with a new name. This is no longer a story about a struggle to lose the stubborn fat that just doesn't like to stay off.

This is going to be a mix of everything that is happening in my life. What you will read will be true, some details may be added to keep things interesting. You decide what you want to believe.

I have been looking for a full time job for quite some time now. It hasn't been very successful. I have gone back to the temp agency to hopefully get some placements and reintroduce myself to the working world.

My first experience with a temp agency was great. The first placement that they sent me on ended up as a permanent position. It was with a large courier company. After working with them for 4 yrs, they decided to close the doors to the call centre. That was 2001. Two weeks later I found out that I was expecting my second child.

I have been a SAHM (stay at home mom) for this time. I send out my resume but haven't had any luck in the job market. I know that my resume is a decent resume however I believe that because of my lack of experience over the last few years, my resume ends up in the recycling bin.

And the search goes on...

Monday, June 09, 2003

Okay so today is a new day. Not much choice in what to eat. I had my slim fast shake with Homogenized milk. Right now I am enjoying a 1L diet coke and already devored some Baked Lay's. Darn they are so tasty! Going to do my workout soon but I have to go pick up Hazel from school.

Okay I am back....I was up at mom's for a bit had a slice of rye bread and a can of sardines. Oh god I can't wait to get some real food. I also had a stalk of celery. Just getting ready to do the workout....2 miles here I come!

Sunday, June 08, 2003

So I joined a challenge on the WW site. Rising Stars. I have to get to 175lbs by October and then I am thinking that my reward will be a Shooting Star tatoo.

I did the 2 mile WATP for abs yesterday and again today. Hopefully we will see a difference at the scales this Saturday. Everyday I will do the 2 mile workout and see how it goes. I thought that I would have made my 10% by the end of May but no avail. So I have told myself that I will extend that to my birthday Sept 1. I am hoping that I will surpass it by that time. We will see.

So far today I had 2 slices of white toast with PB & J. Drank lots of water. Hopefully will have a nice roast for dinner.
Uh I don't believe this thing. I just entered a really great entry and now I have to re-do the whole entry.

Anyways....I had Weigh In this morning and I was debating on not going. I opted to go for WI because I had already missed last weeks meeting and I didn't want to have to worry about paying for two missed meetings next week. Thank goodness for the missed meeting coupons! So I have been dreading the scale for quite some time lately. I haven't been journalling at all and I haven't been doing my WATP religiously. Can you believe that the scale actually said that I had lost .8lb. I look forward to even the miniscule loss because sometimes that is all I got. That means that I must be doing something right?!

When I joined in January I was hoping that I would have reached my 10% goal by the end of May. Needless to say I didn't get there. No need to ask myself why either. I already know. So I was thinking that I was going to quit going to the meetings and just do it on my own. But hey, I realize that if I can't do it with the help I am not going to do it on my own. Besides I like those little incentives that they have for you. You know the keychain, ribbons, and now the summer tote bag.

So I am stating here and now that I will exercise everyday this week until my next WI and we will see what the scale says. I am making this promise that I will lose this stubborn 7 lbs by my birthday Sept. 1. I will be in the 180's by then sporting a healthier new me and a new keychain!

It will be hard journalling for the next week as I haven't done a real grocery shop in so long. I shall do my best however.